如何使用外汇工厂免费交易工具 – 终极指南

0
8798
Forex Factory Tools

交易并不特别是对新投资者容易做到的事情. 每当新交易者关注专业交易者如何增加账户时,这似乎是一种简单的赚钱方法. 然而, 那些真正涉足任何可交易市场的人会知道学习曲线并不是那么容易. 新交易者会发现克服交易的心理和情绪压力有多么困难, 加上每种交易策略的复杂性,因为我们试图发现哪种方法最适合我们.

在外汇交易中尤其如此. 与其他类型的可交易工具不同, 外汇市场的噪音最大,可能会使新交易者感到困惑. 它涉及多种相互关联的货币, 并可能推高任何外汇对的供求. 基本新闻发布通常会导致本来稳定且可预测的市场中断.

因此, 外汇交易者需要他们能获得的所有工具,以便在外汇市场中找到自己的位置. 幸运的是,互联网上有一些免费的资源,而且非常有用. 只为精英提供信息的日子已经一去不复返了.

可以提供此类工具的最受欢迎的网站之一是 www.ForexFactory.com. 它提供了大量工具和信息,可以帮助有抱负的专业交易者做出明智而明智的交易决策. 这里, 我们将深入研究这些外汇工厂交易工具的工作方式以及它如何帮助我们进行交易.

外汇工厂首页

外汇工厂首页包含许多信息,交易者可以在其中了解外汇市场上发生的情况.

以下是外汇工厂首页外观的示例.

外汇工厂首页

默认, 外汇工厂首页包括扫描仪, 每周计划的基本新闻发布时间表, 论坛, 新闻故事, 真实账户的头寸, 主要市场的时间和时段.

外汇工厂扫描仪

我们可以在主页上探索的第一个工具是扫描仪.

外汇工厂扫描仪

默认, 我们可以找到八种货币对,包括当前出价在内的详细信息, 最近六个小时的图表, 最近六个小时的总点差变化, 最后一次的百分比变化 24 小时. 所有这些都是有用的信息. 这使我们可以大致了解过去几个小时来主要货币对的价格走势, 它向哪个方向移动, 以及哪个主要货币对朝某个方向最强劲.

在此扫描仪快照中, 我们可以注意到八个主要货币对中的四个的最近价格走势是如何看跌的, 三个被看好, 还有一个, 尤其是英镑/日元汇率波动. 我们还可以注意到,基于显示的百分比对,澳元/美元对是最弱的, 其次是NZD / USD对和GBP / USD对. 我们还可以注意到,其中美元是期限货币或货币对左侧的货币对, 外汇对看涨, 而无论何时美元是商品货币或货币对右侧的货币, 外汇对看跌. 理解通过反转期限和商品货币成反比的交易者可能会注意到,此快照显示出强劲的美元市场,而美元是大多数货币对推动这种势头的驱动力. 精明的交易者将避免与美元走强进行交易,而宁愿朝其势头方向进行交易. 这本身就是一种很好的交易技巧.

如果扫描程序向我们显示了一个不同的故事,其中美元不是强弱的驱动力, 我们可以将最强的货币与最弱的货币配对,以建立高概率的交易设置.

我们还可以单击“扫描器”窗口下的每个选项卡,以选择我们希望查看的信息。. 例如, 点击“出价”标签即可将其替换为“出价”, 投标要求, 中点, 图表, 点变化, 百分比变化, 前高后低, 和点差.

外汇工厂扫描仪图表

这使我们可以自定义要查看的四种信息以及顺序.

一些交易者可能更喜欢要价或两者都显示. 使用出价/询问选项时, 请注意,要价显示在价格的后三位, 最后一位是“小号”或基本单位的一小部分 (点子) 货币对的数字.

外汇工厂扫描仪出价和询问

“中点”选项基本上只是出价和要价的中点.

外汇工厂扫描仪中点

“图表”选项有一些修改,交易者可以选择. 交易者可以选择应该显示的小时数和蜡烛期, 从最近五分钟开始显示为1分钟蜡烛, 这对黄牛很有用, 直到最后 48 小时显示为4小时蜡烛, 这对日间交易者和摆动交易者很有用. 对于要使用的图表类型,它还具有一个下拉选项. 选项包括蜡烛图, 开-高-低-收盘图, 俗称条形图, 折线图, 虚线图, 和面积图. 交易者还可以根据自己的喜好更改图表的颜色.

外汇工厂扫描仪点数变化

点数变化显示点数价格已从上次的起点开始变化 n 交易者设定的小时数. 因此, 它包含一个下拉选项,交易者可以选择查看最近五分钟内的点变化 48 小时.

外汇工厂扫描仪点数更改为最后 5 分

点变化与平均真实范围有些相似 (Atr). 然而, 它在指示内容和如何解释方面仍然有很大差异. ATR显示价格从期间的高点到低点的点数. 另一方面,Forex Factory Pip Change会显示点数价格已从预设的小时数增加到当前价格. ATR根据点数提供有关市场波动的信息, 而Pip Change提供有关外汇对价格方向的信息, 以及价格变化势头的强弱. 交易者可以使用此信息来确定货币对正在朝哪个方向移动,以及该货币对是否以强劲势头移动.

百分比变化获取来自点值变化的信息并将其转换为百分比. 它根据设定的小时数显示其基本范围内的点子变化百分比. 因此, 交易者还可以选择更改工具将其百分比变化基于的时间跨度, 就像Pip Change下拉选项一样.

外汇工厂扫描仪百分比变化

高/低选项为我们提供了有关交易者选择的预设范围内最高和最低价格的信息. 此下拉菜单也与“点差更改”下拉菜单相同. 交易者可以使用此信息来估计价格是否已经接近其范围的低点或高点, 在许多情况下也是支撑或阻力位.

外汇工厂扫描仪高/低

点差显示出价和要价之间的差额, 也称为点差. 此信息对于黄牛非常有用,因为这是交易者应克服的最基本的交易成本. 这对黄牛尤其有用,因为点差可能是黄牛比其他人更多地散布货币的主要原因之一, 因为剥头皮使每点收益降低,同时仍保持相同的点差成本.

外汇工厂扫描仪点差显示

对于每个主要货币对,交易者还可以选择四个以上指标. 在这种情况下, 交易者可以单击窗口右上角的设置按钮,然后选择所需指标的数量.

外汇工厂扫描仪所需的指标

交易者还可以选择他们希望查看的货币对,而不是主要的外汇对。. 点击顶部行上的外汇对名称,然后输入首选的外汇对名称,然后点击“保存”,即可完成此操作。

外汇工厂扫描仪首选的外汇对

还提供查看实时价格供稿的选项. 这非常有用,因为它使我们能够基于扫描程序及时做出明智的决定. 该选项也位于窗口的右上角.

外汇工厂扫描仪实时

交易者还可以通过单击“扫描器”窗口上的图表来快速查看更大的外汇对图表样本.

外汇工厂扫描仪窗口

点击这些图表中的任何一个,将使我们进入所选外汇对的图表窗口.

外汇工厂图表窗口

外汇工厂图表是交易者可以利用的另一个有用工具. 即使不使用付费图表工具,交易者也可以公平地做出明智的决定,仅通过使用此窗口即可.

以下是显示欧元/美元对的外汇工厂图表示例.

外汇工厂图表窗口

图表上显示的外汇对可以快速更改. 通过单击窗口左上角的外汇对来完成此操作, 输入首选的外汇对并点击“保存”.

外汇工厂提供的外汇对

外汇对名称旁边是显示的时间间隔,交易者可以从中快速选择, 从黄牛使用的1分钟图表到波动交易者和仓位交易者使用的每日和每月图表.

外汇工厂图表外汇对

可以通过单击设置窗口并在选项上选择所需的“显示间隔”,然后单击“应用设置”来修改此列表。.

外汇工厂图申请保存

“线条”按钮是一种工具,允许我们绘制对角线, 水平线和垂直线. 这是通过选择首选的线型然后单击图表以绘制线的两个端点来完成的, 或在水平线和垂直线的情况下, 一次直接在图表上单击. 线条的颜色也可以根据交易者的偏好进行修改.

外汇工厂图表线

“指标”标签使我们可以选择显示突发新闻及其实际影响等选项, 预期的事件日历及其影响, 和图表时间表下方的会话. 它还允许我们在滚动图表时选择一个选项以突出显示时段. “会话数”行遮盖了某个主要市场的交易时间. 以下连续显示的会话: 悉尼, 东京, 伦敦和纽约. “新闻”和“日历”行具有彩色标签,以指示新闻可能产生的影响. 红色表示重大新闻, 橙色表示影响力中等的新闻,黄色表示影响力较小的新闻.

外汇工厂图表指标

“实时”按钮使我们可以选择查看来自合作伙伴经纪人的实时价格供稿.

设置标签为我们提供了一些选项,例如选择绘制价格Feed的时区, 显示图表的高度和宽度, 图表上显示的条形类型, 显示的间隔选项, 游标类型, 颜色, 以及通过滚动鼠标滚轮来放大和缩小的选项.

外汇工厂图表实时

图表底部的条形图允许我们通过拖动整个条形图或拖动条形图的一端来快速导航显示的图表. 这可以根据条形图上的选定时间段快速修改图表上显示的条形图范围.

右下角的向上和向下箭头按钮使我们可以通过上下拖动按钮轻松修改图表的高度.

外汇工厂图表上下

会话窗口

尽管外汇市场是开放的 24 每天小时, 并不一定意味着交易者应该进行交易 24 每天小时. 这样做对交易者是有害的. 交易者时不时为了赚几点而冒着健康风险,这是没有好处的. 交易者应学会计时外汇市场.

某些外汇对在一天中的某些时间波动很大. 这主要是因为主要市场正在积极交易外汇对中的一种货币. 活动的增加是由于使用该货币的主要市场是开放的并且正在积极交易.

例如, 每当悉尼市场出现交易时,澳元和纽元最有可能活跃, 东京和亚洲市场交投时日元活跃, 在法兰克福和伦敦会议期间,欧元和英镑活跃, 当纽约市场开盘时,美元活跃.

因此, 仅当主要市场活跃时,交易者才进行交易是明智的. 拥有使我们能够快速查看哪些市场开放的工具,使我们能够安排个人交易时间. 它还使我们能够隔离哪些货币更活跃,并专注于那些活跃的货币对,而不是将精力分散在多种货币上.

外汇工厂的会话工具使我们能够做到这一点. 快速显示当前开放的市场, 下一步哪个市场开放, 以及哪个市场休市或休假.

以下是“会话”窗口的外观示例.

外汇工厂会议窗口

它根据交易者的首选时区显示时间线. 然后绘制条形图以显示悉尼, 东京, 伦敦和纽约会议. 它还显示市场所在时区的当地时间. 它还突出显示了开放的时区. 会话工具还可以方便地指示假期休市的市场, 这通常可以解释市场波动率异常低.

日历工具

日历窗口也显示在外汇工厂的主页上. 该窗口提供了一天中过去和即将发生的事件的快照,这可能会影响某些货币及其对应的外汇对.

以下是快照 外汇工厂日历 主页上的窗口.

外汇工厂日历

在这里我们可以找到每个即将发生的新闻事件的日期和时间表, 最有可能受到影响的货币对, 选项卡颜色所指示的可能影响的严重性, 新闻事件的名称, 细节, 实际上, 预测数据和先前数据, 以及打开过去经济数据图表的选项.

根据新闻标签的颜色指示即将发生的新闻的影响. 红色表示重大新闻, 橙色表示中间影响新闻, 黄色表示影响较小的新闻. 精明的交易员将始终考虑高影响力新闻对其交易的可能影响. 他们要么避免在此类新闻发布期间进行交易, 等待新闻发布完成且货币波动性在新闻发布前处于有利可图的公开交易状态而平息或收紧止损.

与预测的经济数据相比,实际经济数据的数字也会产生影响. 一些经济数据可能与货币强度成反比, 而其他人有直接相关性. 如果实际数字高于预测数字,则直接相关的经济数据将导致货币升值, 而反向关联的数据会在实际数字低于预测数字时导致货币贬值.

“详细信息”按钮还提供有关新闻发布的深入信息, 包括有关它如何以及为什么影响货币的信息, 历史人物, 以及相关新闻发布. 该窗口非常有用,可以为基础分析提供良好的教育.

外汇工厂日历经济数据

图表按钮可让我们查看实际的历史比较, 预测和先前的经济数据. 这使我们能够评估对某些经济数据的预测的准确性及其对货币对的影响程度.

外汇工厂日历图

排名工具

外汇工厂提供的头寸工具是出色的市场情绪工具. 它基于与做空交易或做多交易的外汇工厂相关的交易者数量,为我们提供了交易者对某对货币是看涨还是看跌的快照.

外汇工厂拥有来自贸易商的贸易数据库,并与他们的Trade Explorer工具关联. 这是一种分析工具,可收集有关交易者历史交易的数据并分析交易者的统计信息.

相同的信息, 来自真实账户交易者的交易决定, 也可以通过排名工具输入. 以下是“外汇工厂位置”窗口的示例.

外汇工厂位置窗口

在此窗口中,我们将看到一列指示货币对或工具, 持有多头头寸的交易者的百分比和数量, 空头交易者的百分比和数量.

也可以修改此工具以显示交易者的数量和百分比以及手数.

外汇工厂定位工具

交易者的数量可能已经非常有用. 然而, 确定交易手数也将是一个受欢迎的信息,因为这将使我们对交易者的信念有深刻的了解. 当交易员确信价格正在朝某个方向移动时,他们倾向于以更高的手数进行交易;而当他们不确定自己的头寸时,他们倾向于以较小的手数进行交易。.

找出大多数外汇工厂交易员所处的位置,可以让我们对市场情绪有一个样本. 虽然, 样本数量可能不够大,无法确定, 给出的信息已经很有帮助.

因交易商, 我们绝对希望按照大多数交易者选择的方向进行交易. 这使我们能够朝着市场情绪的方向流动.

例如, 如果 60% 的交易员正在做多头寸, 对我们来说,朝着同一个方向交易是明智的. 如果在另一方面, 60% 的交易者正在做空头寸, 那么明智的做法是空头.

结论

外汇工厂提供的交易工具是非常有用的信息,交易者可以利用. 事实上, 交易者已经可以根据这些工具提供的信息做出合理的交易决策.

仅新闻日历工具就可以帮助我们做出是否进行交易的决策,甚至实施具有极高获利潜力的新闻交易策略.

扫描仪工具为我们提供了有关哪些货币和货币对移动以及方向变化的快照。. 仅此一项就已经可以作为贸易决策的基础.

如果您不满意此信息, 那么也可以查看外汇图表以收集更多信息.

在此之上, 我们还可以使用头寸工具在我们的交易决策中包含市场情绪.

结合使用来自Forex Factory工具的所有信息并充分理解所有信息,对于初学者和专业交易者无疑都将有很大的帮助.

留言

请输入您的评论!
请在此处输入您的姓名

How to Use Forex Factory Free Trading Tools – The Ultimate Guide

0
5168
Forex Factory Tools

Trading is not an easy endeavor especially for new traders. It may seem like an easy way to earn money whenever new traders look at how professional traders grow their accounts. However, those who actually dabble in any tradeable market would know that the learning curve is not that easy. New traders would discover how difficult it is to navigate the psychological and emotional stresses of trading, plus the intricacies of every type of trading strategy as we try to discover which approach works best for us.

This is especially true in forex trading. Unlike other types of tradeable instruments, the forex market has the most noise which may cause confusion to new traders. It involves multiple currencies that are correlated, and which may push and pull the supply and demand for any forex pair. Fundamental news releases often cause disruptions in an otherwise steady and predictable market.

As such, forex traders need all the tools they can get in order to find their groove in the forex market. Luckily there are several resources available on the internet which are free and are surprisingly very useful. Gone are the days when information is only available for the elite.

One of the most popular websites that can provide such tools is www.ForexFactory.com. It provides a plethora of tools and information which can help aspiring and professional traders alike make intelligent and informed trading decisions. Here, we will take a deep dive into how these Forex Factory trading tools work and how it can help us with our trading.

Forex Factory Home Page

The Forex Factory Home Page contains a lot of information wherein traders can have a snapshot of what is happening in the forex market.

Below is an example of what the Forex Factory Home Page looks like.

Forex Factory home page

By default, the Forex Factory home page includes the Scanner, a weekly schedule of projected fundamental news releases, forums, news stories, positions from live accounts, and time sessions of major markets.

Forex Factory Scanner

The first tool that we could explore on the Home Page is the Scanner.

Forex Factory Scanner

By default, we can find the eight currency pairs with details including the current bid, chart for the last six hours, total pip change for the last six hours, and the percentage change for the last 24 hours. All of which are useful information. This gives us a snapshot as to what the major currency pairs are doing in terms of price movements for the past few hours, which direction it is moving, and which major currency pair has moved the strongest in a certain direction.

In this Scanner snapshot, we could note how the most recent price action of four out of the eight major pairs have been bearish, three being bullish, and one, particularly the GBP/JPY pair being choppy. We could also note how based on the percentage pair displayed the AUD/USD pair was the weakest, followed by the NZD/USD pair and the GBP/USD pair. We could also note that the pairs wherein the USD was the Term Currency or the currency on the left of the pair, the forex pair is bullish, while whenever the USD was the Commodity Currency or the currency on the right of the pair, the forex pair is bearish. Traders who understand inverse correlation based on flipping the Term and Commodity currencies could note that this snapshot shows a strong USD market with the USD being the driver of such momentum on most pairs. Astute traders would avoid trading against the USD strength and would rather trade with the direction of its momentum. This in itself is a good trading technique.

If the Scanner showed us a different story wherein the USD is not the driver of strength or weakness, we can pair the strongest currency versus the weakest currency in order to have a high probability trade setup.

We can also click on each tab under the Scanner window in order to select which information we would want to see. For example, clicking the “Bid” tab would allow us to replace it with Ask, Bid/Ask, Midpoint, Chart, Pip Change, Percentage Change, High/Low, and Pip Spread.

Forex Factory Scanner Charts

This allows us to customize which four information we want to see and in which order.

Some traders may prefer the Ask price or both displayed. When using the Bid/Ask option, note that the Ask price is displayed with the last three digits of the price, and the last digit being a “Pipette” or a fraction of the base unit (pips) of a currency pair’s figure.

Forex Factory Scanner bid and ask

The “Midpoint” option is basically just the midpoint of the Bid and Ask price.

Forex Factory Scanner midpoint

The “Chart” selection has several modifications which traders can choose from. Traders can select the number of hours and the candle periods that should be displayed, from the last five minutes displayed as a 1-minute candle, which is useful for scalpers, up to the last 48 hours displayed as a 4-hour candle, which is useful for day traders and swing traders. It also has a dropdown option for the type of charting to be used. Options include a candle chart, open-high-low-close chart, more popularly known as a bar chart, a line chart, a dotted line chart, and an area chart. Traders can also change the color of the charting according to their preference.

Forex Factory Scanner Pip Change

Pip Change displays the number of pips price has moved from its starting point from the last n hours set by the trader. As such, it includes a dropdown option wherein traders can choose to see the pip change within the last five minutes up to the last 48 hours.

Forex Factory Scanner Pip Change last 5 min

Pip Change is somewhat similar to the Average True Range (ATR). However, it still has a big difference in what it indicates and how it could be interpreted. The ATR displays the number of pips that price has moved from the high of the period up to its low. Forex Factory Pip Change on the other hand displays the number of pips price has moved from the open of the preset number of hours up to the current price. The ATR provides information regarding the volatility of the market based on pips, while Pip Change provides information regarding the direction of a forex pair’s price, as well as the strength of the price change’s momentum. Traders can use this information to identify which direction the pair is moving and whether it is moving with strong momentum or not.

Percentage Change takes the information coming from the Pip Change and converts it to percentage. It displays the percentage of the Pip Change from its base range based on a set number of hours. As such, traders also have the option to change the span of time the tool would base its percentage change from, just as with the Pip Change dropdown option.

Forex Factory Scanner Percentage Change

The High/Low option gives us the information regarding the highest and lowest price within the preset range as chosen by the trader. This also has the same dropdown option as the Pip Change dropdown. Traders can use this information in order to have an estimate as to whether price is already near the low or high of its range, which in many cases are also support or resistance levels.

Forex Factory Scanner High/Low

Pip Spread displays the difference between the bid and ask price, otherwise known as the Spread. This information is a very useful information for scalpers as it is the most basic trading cost that traders should overcome. This is particularly useful for scalpers because spreads can be one of the main reasons why scalpers loose money more than they should, as scalping entails lower returns on a per pip basis while still maintaining the same spread cost.

Forex Factory Scanner Pip Spread displays

Traders may also opt to have more than four metrices regarding each major currency pair. In this case, traders may click on the settings button on the upper right-hand corner of the window and select the number of desired metrices.

Forex Factory Scanner desired metrices

Traders can also select the currency pair which they would prefer to view rather than the major forex pairs. This can be done by clicking on the name of the forex pair on the top row and typing the name of the preferred forex pair and clicking “Save”

Forex Factory Scanner preferred forex pair

An option to view Live price feeds is also available. This is very useful as it allows us to make timely informed decisions based on the Scanner. This option is also found on the upper corner of the window.

Forex Factory Scanner Live

Traders may also quickly view a bigger sample of a forex pair’s chart by clicking on a chart on the Scanner window.

Forex Factory Scanner Window

Clicking on any of these charts would bring us to the chart window of the selected forex pair.

Forex Factory Chart Window

The Forex Factory Chart is another useful tool which traders can take advantage of. Traders can fairly make informed decisions even without the use of a paid charting tool just by using this window.

Below is an example of Forex Factory Chart displaying the EUR/USD pair.

Forex Factory Chart Window

The forex pair displayed on the chart can quickly be changed. This is done by clicking on the forex pair on the upper left corner of the window, typing the preferred forex pair and clicking “Save”.

Forex Factory perferred forex pair

Next to the name of the forex pair are the displayed period intervals which traders may quickly choose from, from the 1-minute chart used by scalpers to the daily and monthly charts used by swing traders and position traders.

Forex Factory Chart forex pair

This list may be modified by clicking on the settings window and selecting the desired “Displayed Intervals” on the options and clicking on “Apply Settings”.

Forex Factory Chart Apply Save

The “Lines” button is a tool which allows us to draw diagonal, horizontal and vertical lines. This is done by selecting the type of line which is preferred then clicking on the chart to plot the two end points of the line, or in the case of the horizontal and vertical lines, clicking directly on the chart one time. The color of the lines may also be modified according to the trader’s preference.

Forex Factory Chart Line

The “Indicators” tab allows us to select options such as displaying breaking news and its actual impact, expected calendar of events and its impact, and sessions below the timeline of the chart. It also allows us to select an option to highlight the period as we scroll through the chart. The Sessions row shades the time when a certain major market is in session. The sessions displayed in the following succession: Sydney, Tokyo, London and New York. The News and Calendar rows have colored tabs to indicate the impact a news may have. Red indicates a high impact news, orange indicates moderate impact news and yellow indicates a low impact news.

Forex Factory Chart Indicator

The “Live” button gives us the option to view live price feeds from a partner broker.

The Settings tab gives us options such as selecting the time zone on which the price feed is charted, the height and width of the chart displayed, the type of bars displayed on the chart, the displayed interval options, the cursor type, the color, and the option to zoom in and out by scrolling the mouse wheel.

Forex Factory Chart Live

The bar at the bottom of the chart allows us to quickly navigate the chart being displayed by dragging the whole bar or dragging one end of the bar. This quickly modifies the range of bars being displayed on the chart based on the selected period on the bar.

The up and down arrow buttons on the lower right corner allows us to modify the height of the chart easily by dragging the button up or down.

Forex Factory Chart up and down

Sessions Window

Although the forex market is open 24 hours a day, it does not necessarily mean that traders should trade 24 hours a day. It would be detrimental for a trader to do so. It is not beneficial for a trader to risk health for the sake of earning a few pips every now and then. Traders should learn to time the forex market.

Certain forex pairs move with high volatility at certain times of the day. This is mainly because one of the currencies in the forex pair is being actively traded by a major market. This uptick in activity is due to the fact that the major market using the currency is open and actively trading.

For example, the AUD and NZD is most likely active whenever the Sydney market is in session, the JPY is active when Tokyo and the Asian markets are in session, the EUR and GBP is active when Frankfurt and London is in session, and the USD is active when the New York market is in session.

As such, it is wise for traders to trade only when the major markets are active. Having a tool which allows us to quickly view which markets are open allows us to time our personal trading sessions. It also allows us to isolate which currencies is more active and focus on those active currency pairs rather than dispersing our focus on multiple currencies.

The Sessions tool of the Forex Factory allows us to do such. It quickly displays which market is currently open, which market would open next, and which market is closed or on a holiday.

Below is an example of what the Sessions window looks like.

Forex Factory Sessions Window

It displays the timeline based on the trader’s preferred time zone. It then plots the bars to show the Sydney, Tokyo, London and New York sessions. It also displays the local time in the time zone of the market. It also highlights the time zone which is open. The Sessions tool also conveniently indicates which market is closed for a holiday, which would usually explain an unusually low volatility market condition.

Calendar Tool

The Calendar window is also displayed on the home page of Forex Factory. This window provides a snapshot of past and upcoming events for the day which may affect certain currencies and its corresponding forex pairs.

Below is a snapshot of Forex Factory Calendar window on the home page.

Forex Factory Calendar

Here we could find the date and time schedules of each upcoming news events, the currency pair which would most likely be affected, the severity of its probable impact as indicated by the color of its tab, the name of the news event, the details, the actual, forecasted and previous data, as well as the option to open the graph of the past economic data.

The impact of an upcoming news is indicated based on the color of its tab. Red indicates a high impact news, orange indicates an intermediate impact news, while yellow indicates a low impact news. Astute traders would always take into consideration the probable effect of a high impact news on their trades. Either they would avoid trading during such news releases, wait for the news release to finish and the currencies volatility to subside or tighten their stop losses prior to a news release when in an open profitable trade.

The figures on the Actual economic data also has an effect when compared with the forecasted economic data. Some economic data may have an inverse correlation with a currency strength, while others have a direct correlation. Directly correlated economic data would cause a currency to strengthen when the actual figure is higher than the forecasted figure, while inversely correlated data would a cause a currency to weaken when the actual figure is lower than the forecasted figure.

The Details button also provides an in-depth information regarding the news release, including information on how and why it affects the currency, historical figures, as well as related news releases. This window is very informative and could be a source of good education for fundamental analysis.

Forex Factory calendar economic data

The Graph button allows us to view the historical comparison of the Actual, Forecast and Previous economic figures. This allows us to gauge how accurate the forecasts are for a certain economic data and the degree of its effect on a currency pair.

Forex Factory Calendar Graph

Positions Tool

The Positions tool provided by Forex Factory is an excellent market sentiment tool. It provides us a snapshot of whether traders are bullish or bearish regarding a certain pair based on the number of traders linked to Forex Factory taking a short or long trade.

Forex Factory has a data bank of trades coming from traders linked with their Trade Explorer tool. This is an analytical tool which gathers data regarding a trader’s historical trades and analyzes the trader’s statistics.

The same information, coming from trade decisions of live account traders, is also fed on the Positions tool. Below is an example of the Forex Factory Position window.

Forex Factory Position Window

In this window we will see a column indicating the currency pair or instrument, the percentage and number of traders having a long position, and the percentage and number of traders having a short position.

This tool can also be modified to display the number and percentage of traders as well as the number of lots.

Forex Factory Postion Tool

The number of traders could already be very useful. However, identifying the number of lots traded would also be a welcome information as this would give us an insight regarding the conviction of the traders. Traders tend to trade with higher lots when they are convinced price is moving in a certain direction and tends to trade smaller sizes when they are not sure of their position.

Identifying which position most traders on Forex Factory are on allows us to have a sample of what the market sentiment is. Although, the sample size might not be big enough to be definitive, the information given is already helpful.

As traders, we would definitely prefer to trade in the direction which most traders have chosen. This allows us to flow in the direction of the market sentiment.

For example, if 60% of the traders are taking long positions, it would be wise for us to trade in the same direction. If on the other hand, 60% of the traders are taking a short position, then it would be wise to take a short position.

Conclusion

The trading tools provided by Forex Factory are very useful information which traders can take advantage of. In fact, traders can already make sound trading decisions based on the information provided by these tools.

The News Calendar tool alone can help us make decisions whether to trade or not and even implement a news trading strategy which has a very high potential for profits.

The Scanner tool gives us a snapshot of which currencies and pairs are moving and in which direction. This alone can already be a basis for a trade decision.

If you are not content with this information, then it is also possible to view a forex chart in order to gather more information.

On top of this, we may also include market sentiment on our trading decision using the Positions tool.

Combining all the information coming from the Forex Factory tools and making sense of it all would definitely be of big help for beginner and professional traders alike.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here